WHO ARE YOU?

Every action begins with a thought.  And if we don’t learn to capture our thoughts and take control of our minds we’re going to be all over the board. We may begin making decisions that are unhealthy for us and the people around us. We can be easily swayed by other people, by lies from the enemy and by our emotions.  We must learn the Truth in God’s word and what He says about us.  What He says about YOU.  And then renew our minds daily- sometimes every hour-and sometimes, when the pressure is on- moment to moment.  If we don’t guard our thoughts very carefully, before we know it we are caught up in everything and nothing; do you know what I mean?  Everything being all the chaos of this world and nothing being a lot of things that are meaningless or serve no purpose.  Things that keep us spiritually and emotionally drained.

We must be careful and very selective about what we choose to put before our eyes and what we allow our ears to hear.  This is very important on this journey of life.  TV, social media, music and movies all affect us in a powerful way.  Sometimes these things are fine but the enemy can also use these as a way to feed a negative influence into our minds.  He uses these forms of media to whisper His lies into our hearts.  We can see something in a movie or hear something in a song that can plant a thought in our mind that makes us react in a way that is not based on what God wants for our life.  This can lead to sloppy, sporadic decisions. And it can cause our emotions to catapult in an instant to a place that is unhealthy, causing depression and anxiety.

Another weapon that can form against us is things from our past that we allow to creep in and affect our thoughts and emotions. If you were told early on, as a child, that you were not good enough or maybe you suffered abuse, this can give you a skewed opinion of self; and then your thoughts are grounded in lies. Your self-perception is off.  Instead of seeing you through God’s eyes you see yourself through shame and guilt.  Since this is all you have ever known you don’t realize this thinking is wrong.   It’s time to break the stronghold.  It’s time to take back the territory of your mind that has been invaded and held captive for far too long.

The most powerful tool we have to replace lies in our life and fuel our thoughts is The Bible.  God’s word is full of Truths.  It’s your connection to the Lord, The God of Heaven- Your Abba (Daddy) Father and your most precious Savior, Jesus Christ.  John 8:31-32 says, 31 So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, 32 and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free. ~~~ Jesus said if we know the truth it will set us free and I believe that, do you?   If you and I are going to live a life that is full of victory and walk this journey of life in true freedom we must, and I say again we MUST, learn what God’s word says about us.

Let’s look at some truths in the word of God.  As we look over these scripture, I encourage you to say aloud what is in bold.  The more you hear the truth, and speak the truth the more it will begin to permeate your mind.  And the more you dwell on these truths, the more they will begin to take hold, and redirect you thoughts.  This is renewing your mind and is based on the scripture from Romans 12:2, Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Who are you?

*You are loved.  Say, I am loved.

 But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— Ephesians 2:4-5 (ESV)

The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.     Zephaniah 3:17

 *You are created in the image of God. Say, I am created in the image of God.

Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals,[a] and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”

     So God created mankind in his own image,
in the image of God he created them;
male and female he created them
. Genesis 1:26-27 (NIV)

For in him we live and move and have our being.’[a] As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring. Acts 17:28 (NIV)

*You are accepted.  Say, I am accepted.

Every person the Father gives me eventually comes running to me. And once that person is with me, I hold on and don’t let go. John 6:37 (MSG)

Then Peter started speaking: “I now truly understand that God does not show favoritism in dealing with people, 35 but in every nation the person who fears him and does what is right is welcomed before him. Acts 10:34-35 (NET)

*You are a friend of Jesus.  Say, I am a friend of Jesus.

No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you. John 15:15 (NKJV)

*You are chosen.  Say, I am chosen.

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Colossians 3:12 (NIV)

*You are blessed.  Say, I am blessed.

 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. Ephesians 1:3 (NIV)

*You are powerful.  Say, I am powerful.

 For God did not give us a spirit of timidity or cowardice or fear, but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of sound judgment and personal discipline [abilities that result in a calm, well-balanced mind and self-control]. 2 Timothy 1:7 (AMP)

*You are forgiven.  Say, I am forgiven.

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace, Ephesians 1:7 (ESV)

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. Galatians 5:1 (NIV)

*You are a new creature.  Say, I am a new creature.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come:[a] The old has gone, the new is here! 2 Corinthians 5:17

*You are a citizen of heaven.  Say, I am a citizen of heaven.

But we are citizens of heaven, where the Lord Jesus Christ lives. And we are eagerly waiting for him to return as our Savior. Philippians 3:20 (NLT)

*You are a child of God.  Say, I am a child of God.

 For you have a new life. It was not passed on to you from your parents, for the life they gave you will fade away. This new one will last forever, for it comes from Christ, God’s ever-living Message to men. 1 Peter 1:23 (TLB)

*You are healed.  Say, I am healed.

who Himself bore our sins in His own body on the tree, that we, having died to sins, might live for righteousness—by whose stripes you were healed.

1 Peter 2:24 (NKJV)

But he was pierced for our transgressions,
he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was on him,
and by his wounds we are healed.
  Isaiah 53:5 (NIV)

*You are an overcomer.  Say, I am an overcomer.

And they have conquered him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, for they loved not their lives even unto death. Revelation 12:11 (ESV)

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. 1 Peter 2:9 (ESV)

*You are righteous.  Say, I am righteous.

 God made him who had no sin to be sin[a] for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.  2 Corinthians 5:21 (NIV)

*You are redeemed.  Say, I am redeemed.

Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a pole.” Galatians 3:13 (NIV)

*You are free.  Say, I am free.

For the law of the Spirit of life has set you[a] free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death. Romans 8:2 (ESV)

*You are a victor.  Say, I am victorious.

 But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

1 Corinthians 15:57 (NIV)

Nothing in this world is more powerful than Jesus Christ and the blood He poured out on the cross for you.  You have been washed clean by His blood and made a new creature.  You can stop living a defeated life that is based on lies if you grasp hold of all the things He has told you.  Your life can be all the things God has said you are.  If you believe then receive.  This new thinking may take some time.  After all you may have been walking around in this defeated life for some time.  Be vigilant.  Don’t give up.  Keep dwelling on who God says you are.  Remember, Jesus overcame the world.  You have the power through Him to do the same.

Let’s Pray,

Father God,

Open my mind and heart to be renewed by the truth in Your word.  Let Your healing power pour out over me and release me from every lie that has taken root in my mind and in my thoughts.  Help me to believe and receive all that you say I am.  Let my thoughts line up with Your thoughts and help me to receive the out pouring of the Holy Spirit in my life.  Help me shed off old habits and old ways of thinking.  Show me how to live in Your truths. Lord Your word says I am your beloved show me how to walk in this truth so I can live in freedom and be an effective witness for You.   In Jesus Precious name I pray, Amen

Cindy Montgomery, New Beginnings Outreach Ministries Women’s Ministry Leader

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment